Two weeks done and only 72 days left :( - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Anne Boer - WaarBenJij.nu Two weeks done and only 72 days left :( - Reisverslag uit Bilbao, Spanje van Anne Boer - WaarBenJij.nu

Two weeks done and only 72 days left :(

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

20 September 2014 | Spanje, Bilbao

So here we go again! Blogging, yeah.

From my last blog, I've learnt not to write when your a bit down, or something unpleasant happened. I deleted it because I don't want to be disrespectful or judgmental. :) So new blog is being written right now!

Two weeks of vacation, food, friends, family, fiestas and... school! With all the things that happened this weeks it feels like I've lived here for a month or more. And even though I've hard times speaking Spanish, understanding, writing and reading are going so great. And yes, my most used sentence in class is still 'No lo entiendo (I don't get it)', but soon I wouldn't need that anymore, I hope.

Last week I also had kind off my first breakdown, I'm 1500 kilometer away from my own parents, friends, school and life. I miss this every day and I probably will miss this for the next 2.5 months to go. And also because off misunderstanding I felt bit down in school. But thanks to my amazing friends here I get that that isn't true at all. And I'm so grateful for my family, friends and everybody else here for supporting me. I really feel like this is my home know. And yeahhh I have a big sister!!! Love it already.

But enough off the emotional thingies and write about my favorite thing off all: homework, school and getting up early! <3 Luckily the school days are shorter than in my country, so this is my day and my subjects in school, lots off information, but yeah:

6:45 waking up

7:00 realizing that I've been reading my whap, intagram, twitter, snap and Facebook for way to long now and I really have to get my lazy ass out off bed.

7:15 FOOD

7.35 school bus stops in from of my house, niceee, and these first three days I haven't missed it yet. But I'm sure that I'll miss it some day.

8:30 after a lovely tour trough all the villages in the valley and picking up others, the scarily loud, air-alarm like bell goes off. Time to start.

14.30 Back in the bus for the touristic route back home, which I really don't mind because the valley is so beautiful!

15:00 back home and FOOD

afternoon: Making homework and learning, made Spanish Languages with the help off my sister.

18:00 FOOD

evening: Just relaxing or going into town with friends

21:00 FOOD

22:00 bedtime

And then what do I do in school? I actually paying attention and doing all my work, I might have to do this in the Netherlands to, maybe. And also there is lots off laughter in the classes. Because some situation are kinda funny. Like when a teacher told an entire story and he has to start all over again on a weird slow speed so I can follow it. But after trying so hard I still don't get it.

Lengua: Spanish, well I suck at language in my own country . And I Spanish isn't that good either. So this is very hard for me. And lots off homework to. First assignment was to write an essay so my teacher could see what I'm able to. And secondly he gave us Spanish sentences which we had to correct, I made this with my sister, because in my eyes these were all just good Spanish words. hahah

English: Yes, a subject that I get! For 50%, that about 40% More than other lessons! Because they speak 50/50 Spanish/English. But the teacher is awesome, first sentence off the year: When I was high, the police entered my penthouse. think this lessons are great for my Spanish.

Greek and Latin: 8 hours per week, more languages that I don't speak nor write! Lovin it though! Old roman hero stories, love that. And luckily the others start Greek this year from 0 too. So that's makes it easier. And the teacher is very nice!

Gym: IF MY DUTCH SCHOOl READS THIS PLEASE TAKE NOTES. It is completely normal here, that the days you have education fisica (gym) you'll be wearing your sweatpants the entire day. Yes sweaty shirts are changed and deodorant is used. But I'm totally in love with this, because I love nothing more than just walking the entire day in my jogging pants.

Philosophies: Never loved it and just like in my school it's a bit boring, just my opinion. And this is also very hard dough to terms and stuff.

Religion: Only catholic, which is different and hard, because in the Netherlands I normally use my phone in the lessons or am inside the Jumbo buying Milka Oreo. And I'm raised atheistic and I respect all religions, but for me its just nah. So I know a lot less than the others here. But my mom said we were mostly going to watch movies, which still be, like everything in Spain, Spanish with no possibility for English subtitles. Not that this will be good for me to use English, but some day my head feels like its going to explode from everywhere, everybody, everything in Spanish.

History: Last blog, for the ones who were able to read that, I wasn't to positive about this. Everybody teaches different and some like to joke a bit. In my opinion saying to me that I don't know anything, wasn't normal for a teacher to say. And its also a fact that in every country history will be told different. For example:
I've learned more about the bad things that Spain did to the Indians in south America. And here in the first lesson it was about what the English and Dutch people did to the slaves. Both are true.

TIC: Informatics, on computers with windows XP, haven't used that for a while! These classes aren't so hard to me luckily. The hardest part is not to click on 'nederlands' when we have to use Wikipedia.

So that's school
BTW:
I DO NOT HAVE MATHEMATICS OR DUTCH!!! * happy dance *


And then the weekends!! Best part off the week of course. Starting with last week Friday, I'm am a great fan off family games like monopoly, risk etc. You can wake me up at 4 o'clock for that. So they came with the great idea to play Party and Co.... IN Spanish! And my team won, yeah, its very good for my Spanish and it's so funny. Played it yesterday to.

Last Saturday it was fiesta time. In a town few km further there was life music, lots of people and Dancingg! Salsa and tango kind off things. I have two left foot and a body like a plank. So I might not be able to dance, I still do it. Just because I love it.

And of course between twelve and four (time the party was) I met about 25 new people. And I might remembered one name.
Really at the end off this experience my brain will look like a sick bodybuilder. Remember everything, translate everything and don't sleep much.

Yesterday (Friday) we went to the candy shop, like almost all days, which is one off the things that I'm gonna miss when I'm back. And after that we did games again.

Right now I'm typing very fast because I'll be eating in a few minutes, as usual <3, and going to Bilbao to go bowling, yheee

Other things I've seen, done and thought. But aren't In the way to long story above:
- I'm like crazily tanned. I'm like chocolate, omnomnom
- I love the food here so much and eat so much that I'm gaining a kilo every week. Luckily I brought my running shoes and have to use these.
- Sunflowers Pits are my new favorite candy thingies, but everybody has skills in eating them, while I struggle to get them open without having to eat the case too.
- I'm going to Barcelona next week!
- My dog ran scared away when my dad showed my Skype to him, miss you to Siep
- Walking in the house with bare feet or socks is weird here. Still doing it because I love it. ha!
- Love how many things my sister and I have in commen, shopping, Eminem, going out enz.
- It is not true that everywhere in Spain paella is eaten, I haven't had it yet. Neither did I had siestas.


Adios amigos! Voy comer!


  • 20 September 2014 - 17:03

    Lies Janssen:

    hallo Anne.
    Leuk jou Engels te lezen met het woordenboek er bij,dus moeilijk voor Oma,maar ik begrijp er al heel veel van.fijn dat het je goed gaat,en zo vliegen de weken om,voor je het weet ben je weer thuis.in Hunsel gaat het allemaal goed,op een paar valpartijtjes na.maar daar zijn wij ook weer bovenop.Nou Anne geniet doe veel kennis op,en horen weer gauw van mekaar.
    Heel veel liefs en knuffels van Oma&Opa uit Hunsel.xx

  • 21 September 2014 - 20:26

    Marcos Amigos:

    Después de leer su blog,
    estoy adicional celeso!

    disfrutar de TODO!

    Saludos

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

I'll be living in Spain for three months with AFS ECTP programs. I'll be staying with the lovely family San Vicente - Barbon in a town in the north of Spain. Called Concejero in the Valle de la Mena. Its a beautyfull small town inbetween the mountains. So on this blog I will post my story of my time in Spain for the ones who would like to follow my life there!

Actief sinds 27 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 553
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8014

Voorgaande reizen:

05 September 2014 - 01 December 2014

3 Months in Spain

Landen bezocht: